THE MOST COMMON PROBLEMS FACED BY BEGINNERS


I remember my beginning. Everything was strange to me – the teacher, notes, clarinet. I had pain in my right thumb caused by  the weight of the clarinet. My lower lip became weak when I first obtained tone. After playing longer it had become raw and sore. I thought to myself it was hard to blow … Would it always be like this?


I want to assure you that it will not! The above thoughts are just memories of an inexperienced beginner. All clarinetists face similar problems which disappear over time with experience and practice. One gets better physical condition, ie., specific muscle groups strengthen and technique of playing improves.

Taken from my book
I Am Studying Clarinet I

J. S. Bach SICILIANO

(Transcription from my collection of pieces for clarinet and piano
Great Masters for Clarinet
)


Leave a Reply

