Composer and music publisher in Vienna and Leipzig. Published numerous works of Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven.
Composed a lot of works himself. Apart from several operas, he wrote plenty of symphonies, string quartets, sonatas, and other chamber music compositions, and a number of concertos for flute, piano and other instruments.
Among the orhestral works there are also the Concertos for Clarinet in B flat major and F majorand the Concerto  for Two Clarinets in E flat major.   
Hoffmeister’s compositions stilistically belong to early Viennese classicism, closely related to Mozart.

Taken from my book
I Am Studying Clarinet II


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s