BOŽIDAR BOKI MILOŠEVIĆ – FESTIVALS AND WORKS

RL: I suggest we should dedicate this page to your participation in numerous festivals in recent years where you won only the first prizes.

– For example, at the Belgrade Festival (Sabor) in 1972 for my composition Cuno’s Round Dance (Čunovo oro), I got the first prize.

Božidar Boki Milošević:
Cuno’s Round Dance (Čunovo oro)

In June 1973, I participated in the International Music Festival of Clarinetists in Tunisia, where, in the fierce competition of clarinetists from around the world (25 nations took part), I took the first prize. The award was handed out to me by the president of Tunisia Habib Bourguiba.

There I performed my composition Kostana’s Mekam Dance.

RL: You mostly played your compositions at the festivals and they brought you fame of an outstanding composer?

– Yes. The same year 1973, at the Festival in Sarajevo, I won the first prize for the same composition, Kostana’s Mekam Dance.

Božidar Boki Milošević: Kostana’s Mekam Dance

RL: Do you easily find ideas for your compositions?

– I wrote Pastoral ballad on the beach in Sutomore. The idea appeared, I made drafts on a blank space of newspapers, and rushed to the hotel to finish the work.

I successfully performed the ballad at the Ilidza Festival in 1974. A musical miracle, which I am very proud of, happened there. For one composition I received 3 awards at the same time! I got the first prize for composition, arrangement and performance.

Božidar Boki Milošević: Pastoral ballad

The same year 1974, at the Belgrade Festival I performed Oriental elegy and won the first prize.

Božidar Boki Milošević: Oriental elegy

In 1975, Television Sarajevo organized the Folk Music Festival at the Theatre Mitualite in Paris. That’s where I played my composition Call from the Mountain, and won the first prize of the jury.

Božidar Boki Milošević: Call from the Mountain

RL: The Belgrade Festival (Sabor) has traditionally been our famous festival of folk music. I am proud of participating in it several times with my group “Dukat” and winning the audience award for my song “In the garden of Belgrade”. But, I am even more proud that in 1975, as a student at the Music Academy in the class of professor Bruno Brun, I sent my composition Pupil’s Round Dance (Đačko oro) for a competition and imposed one condition to the Festival Committee of the Belgrade Festival: If oro was chosen, it could be interpreted by none other but – Božidar Boki Milošević.

– Yes, it was the famous Belgrade Festival in 1975 when I performed the splendid  Pupils’ oro written by Mr. Rade Lazić, and again, I earned the first prize.

By the way, Pupil’s Round Dance used to be a soundtrack of Radio Studio B for the program An Evening of the Folk Music.

Radivoj Lazić – Božidar Milošević:
Pupils’ oro (Đačko oro)

(Sheet music in preparation!)

The composition Pupil’s Round Dance written by Mr. Radivoj Lazić
and Boki Milošević won the first prize at the “Belgrade Festival” in 1975.

Leave a Reply

